Day #1 01.01.16

Today’s photo is of me on top of a mountain summit (Bloupunt) at 1266m in Montagu, South Africa. This is the first year in the last few that I’ve actually started as I meant to go on; not hungover and doing some kind of healthy activity! My last photo a day in 2012 started with a photo of a mug of tea as I was hungover and rather than go to the beach for a cobweb-blowing walk like I had planned, I ended up nursing tea and feeling sorry for myself.

So this year I decided to do an early morning (6am) hike of just over 15km to the summit of a mountain. When my alarm went off at 5.30am I can’t say I didn’t question my thinking. But I’d found a hiking buddy extraordinare to come do it with me via a neighbour of where I was staying so I pulled myself out of bed and off we went. We made it up and down (summit of 1266m, just a few metres shy of being as tall as Ben Nevis, highest peak in the UK) in just under 6 hours which in the 30+ heat, wasn’t bad going at all. I’ll not lie – it was bloody hard work, but luckily we walked up in cloud and only down in the heat. Sun is an evil energy sucking vampire.

But it was worth it for the views from the top – on one side all we could see was the blanket of cloud below us (the other was valleys and mountains stretched out). I love seeing clouds like this – I always feel like I’m on top of the world, and this was especially so. We didn’t see another person at all, and you could hear a pin drop at the top. So peaceful.

So there you have it, starting 2016 feeling on top of the world and at peace. Let’s hope the rest of the year continues that way 🙂

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Leave a Reply

