Resting.

It’s important, most people that are active/do sport/compete know that. I know that. Hell, I’m top at resting most of the time and mostly make sure I actually do it. But, there’s a massive difference when it’s enforced rest. I want to rest when I choose to, not when I have to. Like on my week off where it’s mainly good weather and I could be outside running around and climbing mountains and cycling and all those other things I love to do.

I want to spit my dummy out and stamp my feet. IT’S NOT FAIR.

And I don’t even feel injured. My rib is now just uncomfortable rather than painful, and my knee feels fine (until I start to do too much on it, like running). So I’ve had a week of feeling lost and just pottering around feeling a bit meh and annoyed with myself for falling off my bike in the first place.

But, actually, as the week comes to a close, I’m kinda getting used to it. I’ve enjoyed it (in a different way). I’ve got outside every day (even if it’s just for a short walk), I’ve sunbathed on the roof, I’ve sorted all my stuff out (my cupboards have never been so tidy), I’ve read a few books and watched a film. I’ve batch cooked for my freezer and caught up with many friends. I’ve done a load of admin and ticked some stuff off my to do list. I’ve danced around my living room and gone for a little run. I’ve been out for beers and drank gin with my neighbour. I’ve researched and plotted possible future adventures.

And actually, (shhhhhh….) it’s been really nice. It’s been nice to slow down and enjoy time at home and just potter. I do feel pretty rested and rejuvenated. So maybe it’s not too much of a bad thing. And a chance to practice patience and a bit of self care 🙂

IMG_20160904_121040

 

Leave a Reply

